The Dream of A Poet

I woke up with a start some time ago;
A very familiar path;
from sleep infused, in semiconscious state,
with dreams of the unpleasant,
into a slow and rude awakening.

Was it a mystery magician or
con artist, the evil one,
who managed to deprive me of my freedom;
usurp my own free will;
transport me where I never want to go.

And then, somehow it dawned on me that I,
apropos my own illusion,
had written words that weren’t exactly true?
I’m not sure how this is…
But missive written. For poets. How to write!

Astonishing!

The anti-hero in my fated dream
insisted I capitulate
and turn my trade to more constructive end
by which it sought the truth
of why I wish to make my dreams come true.

It asked me who I thought I was and then,
without so much as by
your leave, it pulled me back into oblivion.
It also didn’t hear me
when my stentorian protest made no sound.

It was a vision; a reverie that spoke
of fantasies; woolgathering.
It is, in truth, as truth is meant to be
none other than my conscience,
speaking of the will to write and dream.

If answer there is one, I do not know;
so often out of our control.
The only thing I have to say is this:
it’s always up to you.
Only you can judge what’s best… for you.

By your own best devices, you don’t need
to take advice from where
there is no guidance better than your own
…save rules, and even they
can be ignored once you have mastered them.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This poem combines the subjects of the dream I had last night and certain aspects of my last blog post. The dream left me with a strong impression of a magician with magical, but evil powers and quite possibly a conspiracy that threatens the world of future times. I have written a synopsis of it in my notes on future project ideas, because I had strong feelings that it would make a fantastic storyline for a Sci-Fi novel, but, more than this I cannot tell; you’ll have to wait to see if this particular dream comes true. In the meantime, you can read the blog post to which this refers: “Writing Poetry… A Unique Perspective

© 2012 John Anstie

About PoetJanstie

As a young man, John was fit and sporting. Playing Rugby Union for over twenty years, encouraged in the early days by a school that was run on the same lines as Gordonstoun, giving shape and discipline to a sometimes precarious early life. This fitness was enhanced by working part time jobs in farming, as a leather factory packer and security guard, but probably not helped, for a short time, by selling ice cream! His professional working life was spent as a Metallurgical Engineer, Marketing Manager, Export Sales Manager, Implementation Manager and Managing Director of his own company. Thirty five years spent, apparently in a creative desert, raising a family and pursuing a career, probably enriched his experience, because his renaissance, on retirement, realised a hidden creative talent as a blogger and poet. He also enjoys music, with a piano and a forty-five year old Yamaha FG140 acoustic guitar. He sings bass in three singing groups: as a founding member of a mixed voice chamber choir, Fox Valley Voices; a member of one of the top barbershop choruses in the UK, Hallmark of Harmony (the Sheffield Barbershop Harmony Club) and a mixed barbershop quartet, Needle & Fred. He is also a would be (once upon a time) photographer with drawers full of his own history, and an occasional, but lapsed 'film' maker. In his other life, he doubles as a Husband, Father, Grandfather, Brother, Uncle, Cousin, Friend and Family man. What he writes is autobiographical and very often pins his colours to the mast. In 2013, he completed an anthology of the poetry (including his own) of an international group of nine poets, who met on Twitter. He produced, edited and steered the product of this work, "Petrichor Rising", to publication by Aquillrelle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Dream of A Poet

  1. Its beautiful and full of thoughts that touch the heart. I liked it

    Shashi

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2012/01/whispers-haiku-on-how-i-write-poetry.html
    At Twitter @VerseEveryDay

    Like

    • PoetJanstie says:

      Thank you very much, Shashi. From the great response so far, this is clearly one of the more thought provoking of my scribblings, that’s for sure. Your visit and comment is much appreciated.

      Like

  2. Sheila Moore says:

    very interesting – I do believe in seeking counsel but as you put it, “Only you can judge what’s best… for you.”

    Like

  3. 1emeraldcity says:

    Takes courage to deal with dreams…these coded messages with hidden truths. Whatever that dream means to you, kudos to you for dealing with it and even putting it into poetry. I would love to see a short story or something longer in the sci-fi vein from you, John! Please do it! Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

    • PoetJanstie says:

      Another gem from the Emerald of Gotham City, thank you, J. It’s sweet of you to pay me a visit, especially when I was distracted by this poem, when I should have been focussing on other more important things, like GRPG!

      Like

      • 1emeraldcity says:

        John! You are supposed to be “distracted” when you write poetry….we poets understand that! GRPG certainly understands that…..Excelsior, poet!

        Like

  4. A conversation with self…doubting, asking, coming to your own truth. there is no guidance better than your own …save rules, and even they can be ignored once you have mastered them. I love this!

    Like

  5. Pat Hatt says:

    I don’t think that last stanza could be more true, sometimes too much advice, better to listen to yourself. Nice verse!

    Like

    • PoetJanstie says:

      Thank you Pat. I appreciate your visiting and taking time to comment. If I’m honest, I particularly like the last verse too, although there may be a final verse to add; we’ll have to wait and see what the muse is up to!

      Like

  6. Dreams are so often gifts and when something touches this deeply they command attention. Don’t let go of the sci-fi idea. My second novel came in a dream. I awakened and outlined it. Have fun with it.

    Like

    • PoetJanstie says:

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts on the dream thing. Creative gems that come from that twilight zone between sleep to awakening are worth keeping hold of. Sometimes it’s very hard to do so. I find I have to imprint on my memory by repeating key lines over and over again and all before I can stir myself. If I move and get out of bed too soon it goes, disappears. Yes, you have to get it written down and outlined as quickly as possible. So interested in the fact you wrote a book from this place.

      Like

  7. brian miller says:

    nice truth in this…too many of us freely give up that control to anothers advice and then one day wake up to realize it is not even us living this life…

    Like

    • PoetJanstie says:

      Thanks for calling in and commenting, Brian, I appreciate your input. We can all too easily become corporate slaves, whether we work directly for ’em, or buy their goods, or wear their clothes, or eat their food, they are all trying to get inside our minds. For this reason I find commercial TV invasive (we’re lucky to have the BBC, long may it last), but advertising has become so clever and intrusive, I find it annoys me; mind you I have always been a cynic when it comes to vested commercial interests. Thanks again.

      Like

  8. marousia says:

    Fabulous poem – what an insight – it is so hard to write without attachment…

    Like

  9. leah J. Lynn says:

    That was some dream, good luck with the novel

    Like

  10. your style and ebb of words is hypnotizing. you have a new fan! I am following! Nice to meet you.

    my latest
    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2012/01/17/we-make-love/

    Like

    • PoetJanstie says:

      Kellie, good to meet you too; thanks very much. I tweeted you and visited your worthy site. If the first of your poems I read, “Together, We Make Love”, is representative of your abilities, then I’m a fan already.

      Like

  11. eden baylee says:

    Liked this a lot, John – Bravo. Very Freudian of you to interpret your dream in this manner. Except for the last two stanzas, I’d say your id and superego were at war with one another until your ego finally came into play. “Ego”- used here as purely the conscious mind coming to terms with all the options and making a rational decision – which you obviously have after much thought and perhaps even some angst. 😉

    This poem fits perfectly with your article on “Writing Poetry… A Unique Perspective“
    eden

    Like

    • Poetjanstie says:

      Eden, thank you so much for your comment and for yet another unexpected twist in interpretation; and you still in your sick bed (think I’m catching your germs; sniffling this morning ;-)) with another reference to my blog in that the poem has potentially taken on a life of its own; another reading of it’s meaning. Is this what is to be expected from a closer examination of that time between unconscious dreams and waking conscience, a battle between identity and ego! Wow! Have to say I am, somewhat perversely, pleased about this development. Thank you.

      Like

  12. Louise says:

    I agree with Quirina …it’s a conversation with oneself …one I’ve had a few times…Love the idea of your Sci-Fi novel. Sounds a wonderful project to get your teeth into…just hope your dream doesn’t come true 😉

    Like

    • PoetJanstie says:

      Thanks for visiting, Louise. Hmmm a novel, or may be a short story, who knows. Yes it is an enticing idea. The poem is not my best and I’ve a final verse in mind ;-), but later.

      Like

  13. Quirina says:

    I really like this poem, John. It is a very deep conversation with oneself–a very moral one. And if I may say so, so beautifully Buddhist. That the path to true happiness is know thyself, and thereby guiding ourselves forward. And that when we have this wisdom, we need to be responsible with it, and not abuse it for our own gain, or greed, but that our actions, contribute to world peace in some way. Q xx

    Like

    • PoetJanstie says:

      Thank you Quirina. That you’ve interpreted this poem in a way I hadn’t expected adds something special to it, for me. I’m particularly pleased with the Buddhist part of that interpretation, because that is one belief system, with which I could align myself. And, yes, you’re right, we all have a responsibility to use whatever gifts of talent and skill we have to the benefit of humanity in general.

      Like

Don't leave without letting me know your feelings...

